Old School Mo Wax!

8 08 2008

Mo Wax is one of those labels which I can pretty confidently say that I got on to pretty late in the piece – given that their peak was in the late 1990s. Still, that doesn’t mean any less for its releases.. which include classics from the likes of UNKLE, Dj Shadow, Blackalicious, Dr. Octagon, Air (on a brief outing) and of course Dj Krush…

Read the rest of this entry »


Roll Out Summer Mix

30 07 2008

After a long long long time.. i have spent many hours (which should have probably been spent doing something else) compiling a new mix. It turned out to be quite long so I decided to split it into 2 half hour parts which link up if you play them back to back.

Enjoy and turn it up louder

Fernando – Roll Out Summer Mix Part 1

Fernando – Roll Out Summer Mix Part 2 – NOW ROLLING

Tracklisting is something like this:

Read the rest of this entry »

Mercury Awards Time and new Metalheadz Website

24 07 2008

It’s that time of year again… the shortlist is as follows.. (shamelessly borrowed from a certain Wiki resource)…

I can’t actually say that I have heard too many of these albums, although I am familiar with the artists (Living in London it seems inevitable).

Personally i’m backin Burial and Radiohead.. although i’m not really sure which one I would rather won it.. I would say that Radiohead deserve it just as much as Burial does, perhaps Radiohead in recognition of their ‘long service’ and contribution to the UK and world music scene.

On a related note, the Metalheadz label has been preparing a remix album entitled ‘Recall to Mind’ remixing tracks from the ever popular Commix album which was released earlier this year..  on that you will be sure to encounter this Burial remix of ‘Be true’ (for a limited time only!), as well as many other gems from the likes of Instra:mental, Carl Craig and Matthew Justin.. it promises to be an epic outing reversing the trend of drum & bass remixes to become drum & bass remixed!

read all about it on the brand spanking new (flash) Metalheadz Website – 7 years in the making they say!

Album – Cinematic Orchestra Live at the Royal Albert Hall

7 03 2008

Its here! (almost)

Released April 7th – Pre-order now from Amazon!

Tracklisting is as follows:

  1. All That You Give
  2. Child Song
  3. Flite
  4. Familiar Ground
  5. To Build A Home
  6. Prelude
  7. Breathe
  8. Man With A Movie Camera
  9. Time And Space

Dj Marky Disco mix on Solid Steel radio show

10 01 2008

Hello 2008! some new stuff coming soon, until then check out this mix! Read the rest of this entry »

Photos and Review – Hypnotic Brass Ensemble Live at Cargo – 15th December

20 12 2007

The mighty Brass Ensemble which has everyone from Mos Def to Gilles Peterson singing their praises played their last gig in their 2007 European tour at Cargo on 15th December. Read the rest of this entry »

Mr Scruff opens a Pie shop, makes his own Tea, and features on December BBC essential mix

13 12 2007

Pies! They’re festive and they’re yummy! Mr Scruff has opened his own teashop in Manchester’s northern quarter. It’s called CUP, and they serve festive pies alongside his very own ‘Make Us A Brew’ tea. Definitely worth dropping in for a pit stop while you’re out on a Manchester xmas shopping marathon. In fine Mr Scruff style he has illustrated a little cartoon to explain as such (which i have stolen from his website Mrscruff.com) Check out the rest of the site if you enjoy tasty beats and quirky animation, you won’t be disappointed.

Read the rest of this entry »